RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Six outstanding students from The University of 2 Texas at San Antonio make up the 2009 class of the McClendon Legislative Service Scholars Program, and as the 81st Legislative 3 Session draws to a close, it is indeed appropriate to recognize 4 5 these dedicated interns; and 6 WHEREAS, Created by Representative Ruth Jones McClendon in 7 August 2004, the McClendon Legislative Service Scholars Program is a collaborative initiative with the UTSA Institute for Law and 8 Public Affairs; coordinated by the institute's director and UTSA 9 political science professor Richard Gambitta, the program gives 10

12 interns in the Texas House of Representatives during legislative

sessions; selected by a UTSA scholarship committee based on 13

undergraduate and graduate students the opportunity to serve as

14 academic credentials as well as such criteria as good judgment,

independent thinking, and professionalism, the interns 15

assigned to work in the offices of members of the house throughout 16

the session; and 17

11

WHEREAS, An intern in the office of Representative Jose 18 Menendez, Jessica Castilleja has maintained a 4.0 GPA while 19 studying political science; she has been active in the Student 20 21 Leadership Academy and Student Appeals Committee at South Texas College, the VAMOS 2007 Scholarship Committee, the ACLU, and Phi 22 23 Alpha Delta; also a dedicated community volunteer, she has shared her time with the Mujeres Unidas y Activas clothing drive, the 24

- 1 Community Justice Program at Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid, and the
- 2 Hidalgo County Bar Association; she looks forward to making a
- 3 positive difference through a career in the field of public policy;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, A political science major, Caryn Brianna Malone has
- 6 received a number of honors during her college career; in addition
- 7 to earning a place on the dean's list and honor roll, she is an
- 8 Honors College Leadership graduate and a member of the Golden Key
- 9 International Honour Society and the UTSA Political Science Honor
- 10 Society; she has gained valuable experience through her service as
- 11 an Archer Fellow in Washington, D.C., as an intern at the U.S.
- 12 Department of Education, and currently as an intern in the office of
- 13 Representative Ruth Jones McClendon; a graduate of the rigorous
- 14 UTSA Summer Law School Preparation Academy, she plans to serve her
- 15 fellow citizens through a career in law and government; and
- WHEREAS, Also majoring in political science, Allen D. Match,
- 17 Jr., has demonstrated a desire to improve the lives of others,
- 18 working to help underprivileged residents of Mexico gain access to
- 19 clean water as partner and managing member of Water Security
- 20 Mexico; he has also served as a consultant with the UNAM Department
- 21 of Economics, a clerk with Higdon, Hardy & Zuflacht, and senior zone
- 22 leader with Mormon Missionaries in Mexico, and his work as an intern
- 23 has been greatly valued in the office of Representative Lois
- 24 Kolkhorst; in addition to earning a certificate in legal reasoning,
- 25 Mr. Match has completed the UTSA Summer Law School Preparation
- 26 Academy and plans to pursue a career in public policy; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Nicole Elise Robbins, who is majoring in English

- 1 with an emphasis in professional writing, maintains a 4.0 GPA and
- 2 has earned membership in a number of national and international
- 3 honor societies, including Sigma Kappa Upsilon, Golden Key, Alpha
- 4 Chi, and Sigma Tau Delta; she is a recipient of two scholarships
- 5 from the Institute for Law and Public Affairs as well as the John S.
- 6 Jockusch Endowed Scholarship in the Liberal Arts; admired for her
- 7 keen intellect and sharp wit, Ms. Robbins was a welcome addition to
- 8 the office of Representative Jim McReynolds; and
- 9 WHEREAS, An intern in the office of Representative Roberto
- 10 Alonzo, Daniela Santoni has proven herself to be a dedicated
- 11 community volunteer; in addition to her service with the Americorps
- 12 Rape Crisis Center, she has tutored bilingual children, worked with
- 13 Green Spaces Alliance of South Texas, and assisted in relief
- 14 efforts following Hurricane Ike, and her generous contributions
- 15 foretell a future bright with promise; and
- WHEREAS, Frank Carni II is currently a junior in the UTSA
- 17 Honors College, where he is studying political science and business
- 18 administration; a member of the National Society of Collegiate
- 19 Scholars and Pi Sigma Alpha National Political Science Honor
- 20 Society, he chairs the College Republicans at UTSA and was elected
- 21 Texas College Republicans State Secretary in 2008; his work history
- 22 includes service as a UTSA supplemental instruction leader and as
- 23 an intern with the 2008 Republican National Convention; this
- 24 session, he has served in the office of Speaker Joe Straus; and
- 25 WHEREAS, These dedicated students have provided vital
- 26 support services to the legislature throughout the session while
- 27 gaining important firsthand experience in government, and it is a

- 1 pleasure to recognize the contributions of these accomplished young
- 2 people as well as the role of this exceptional program in preparing
- 3 our future generation of leaders; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commend the McClendon Legislative Service
- 6 Scholars Program on its successful third year and extend to Jessica
- 7 Castilleja, Caryn Brianna Malone, Allen D. Match, Jr., Nicole Elise
- 8 Robbins, Daniela Santoni, and Frank Carni II sincere best wishes
- 9 for success in all their endeavors; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the interns as an expression of high regard by the
- 12 Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2805 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House