By: Kolkhorst H.R. No. 2807

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Legendary high school football coach Joe Clements 2 has been honored with the 2009 Mance Park Lifetime Achievement 3 Award from the Huntsville-Walker County Chamber of Commerce; and WHEREAS, Mr. Clements began his involvement with Huntsville 4 5 High School athletics when he was a student; playing quarterback under the direction of coach Mance Park, he led the Hornets to their 6 7 first state football championship in 1953 and won all-district honors in both football and baseball; and 8 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Clements went on to become a teacher and coach, and in 1975 he returned to Huntsville High to take charge of the 10 football team; so began a highly successful tenure that included 4 11 regional championships, and a dramatic 51-game winning streak; and 12 WHEREAS, The pinnacle of the coach's success came in 1980, 13 14 when the Hornets won the state title; Coach Clements is believed to be the only person in Texas to play quarterback on a state

be the only person in Texas to play quarterback on a state championship team and then later lead the same school to the title as coach; the Huntsville football program received national attention thanks to his guidance, and he finished his career with a remarkable record of 221 wins, 77 losses, and 6 ties; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of nearly two decades, Joe Clements
mentored hundreds of Huntsville student-athletes, instilling in
them an enduring commitment to excellence and teaching them
valuable lessons about dedication and teamwork, and he is indeed
deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2807

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Joe Clements on receiving the Mance
- 3 Park Lifetime Achievement Award and extend to him sincere best
- 4 wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Clements as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.