By: Merritt H.R. No. 2847

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Great Texas Balloon Race is being held from July

- 2 10 to 12, 2009, in Longview; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This world-class event dates back to 1978, when a
- 4 hot air balloon pilot, Dr. Bill Bussey, advertised the opening of
- 5 the Longview Mall by draping a banner over his balloon, and he began
- 6 gaining support from local residents and business leaders for the
- 7 establishment of a balloon race; in 1980, Dr. Bussey helped create
- 8 the first-ever balloon glow, an evening attraction that showcased a
- 9 number of tethered balloons illuminated in a radiant display of
- 10 light, and from then on, these events became increasingly popular
- 11 and drew many new visitors to the city; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Affiliated with the North American Balloon
- 13 Association, the Great Texas Balloon Race attracts pilots from
- 14 across the United States and beyond to the East Texas Regional
- 15 Airport, where they vie for the Texas State Championship; it
- 16 features 80 sport and special-shaped hot air balloons engaged in
- 17 such competitions as the Controlled Navigational Trajectory Event,
- 18 or the "Key Grab," which is a crowd favorite; the weekend
- 19 festivities also include live concerts, arts and crafts, and
- 20 children's activities; and
- 21 WHEREAS, For more than three decades, the Great Texas Balloon
- 22 Race has remained a cherished tradition for many residents of the
- 23 Lone Star State, and it is indeed a pleasure to join the citizens of
- 24 Longview in celebrating this noteworthy occasion; now, therefore,

H.R. No. 2847

- 1 be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the 2009 Great Texas Balloon Race
- 4 and extend to its sponsors and attendees sincere best wishes for a
- 5 memorable and successful event; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the organizers of the Great Texas Balloon Race as an
- 8 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.