H.R. No. 2868

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The tenure of an admired scholastic administrator 2 drew to a close with the retirement on January 30, 2009, of Dr. 3 William Farney as executive director of the University 4 Interscholastic League; and

5 WHEREAS, A Texas native, Bill Farney was a four-year 6 letterman at Chilton High School in football, basketball, and 7 track, and graduated in 1958 as valedictorian of his class; he 8 attended Paris Junior College and the University of Tulsa on 9 football and academic scholarships, earning a bachelor's degree in 10 English, and contributing to the Tulsa Golden Hurricanes' Missouri 11 Valley Conference football championship in 1962; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Farney began his professional career in student athletics as an assistant coach for the basketball and wrestling teams at Will Rogers High School in Tulsa; he came back to Texas in 1964 to serve as coach and principal in Lorena; he later moved to Waco to become principal of Robinson High School, founding a golf program that became 2A district champions in 1969; and

WHEREAS, This dedicated administrator and coach went on to serve as superintendent of the Crawford Independent School District while simultaneously coaching 22 different teams in 4 different sports; his squads captured 14 district championships, 6 bi-district championships, 6 regional championships, and a state championship, and they made a total of 4 state final appearances; and

1

H.R. No. 2868

1 WHEREAS, In 1977 Bill Farney became athletic director and assistant to the director of the University Interscholastic League; 2 3 he received his doctoral degree in education two years later and, in 1995, was promoted to the executive director position, which he 4 5 would hold until his retirement; his role as a compassionate leader and consensus builder helped the UIL to promote sportsmanship and 6 academic accountability; he granted sanction to several new sports, 7 8 expanded the playoff system, and increased the opportunities for girls to participate in athletics, among many other initiatives; 9 10 and

11 WHEREAS, Respected by athletes, parents, teachers, coaches, 12 and his fellow administrators, Bill Farney has made a positive 13 difference in the lives of Texas students over the course of several 14 decades, and his legacy of integrity and achievement in 15 interscholastic competition will resonate for years to come; now, 16 therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 18 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. William Farney on the occasion 19 of his retirement as executive director of the University 20 Interscholastic League and extend to him sincere best wishes for 21 continued success and happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Dr. Farney as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gattis

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 2868

H.R. No. 2868

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2868 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House