H.R. No. 2881

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Officer Daniel X. Elizondo of the Alice Police 2 Department is being awarded the 2008 State of Texas Law Enforcement 3 Achievement Award for Valor from the Texas Commission on Law 4 Enforcement Officer Standards and Education; and

5 WHEREAS, A peace officer with nine years of experience, 6 Officer Elizondo prevailed in a desperate situation on April 10, 7 2008, during which he demonstrated great courage and determination; 8 and

9 WHEREAS, Responding to a bank robbery in progress, Officer 10 Elizondo pursued two suspects in his vehicle after two other 11 officers were injured; the suspects used their car to ram Officer 12 Elizondo's vehicle, trapping him inside, and then they shot him in 13 the leg; the officer returned fire, mortally wounding one suspect; 14 he then helped the other officers to locate the second suspect, who 15 was later tried and convicted for the crime; and

16 WHEREAS, For his heroic actions on that day, Officer Elizondo 17 received the first Medal of Valor ever presented by the City of 18 Alice; and

WHEREAS, The peace officers of Texas must regularly place themselves in harm's way to protect the lives and property of their fellow Texans, and through his exemplary service, Daniel Elizondo has proven himself to be an outstanding member of the law enforcement profession; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

H.R. No. 2881

Legislature hereby congratulate Officer Daniel X. Elizondo on his receipt of the 2008 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Valor and extend to him sincere appreciation for his steadfast bravery and unwavering dedication to duty; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Officer Elizondo as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

> Gonzalez Toureilles Herrero

H.R. No. 2881

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2881 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House