H.R. No. 2890

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The observance of Texas First Responders Day on 2 September 11, 2009, provides a fitting opportunity to pay tribute 3 to Valley Emergency Medical Services, Inc., for its immeasurable 4 contributions to the region; and

5 WHEREAS, Since 1982, Valley EMS has remained a vital, life-saving resource for countless residents of Edinburg and the 6 7 surrounding communities; this noteworthy organization provides 24-hour customer care with fully staffed ambulances, and its 8 emergency medical dispatchers are available around the clock to 9 assist callers in critical situations; in addition to providing 10 11 local transfers, Valley EMS transports patients to facilities in 12 Corpus Christi, San Antonio, Houston, and Galveston, and it offers non-emergency transportation to doctors' offices and 13 other 14 treatment centers; and

WHEREAS, Also dedicated to community outreach, Valley EMS conducts informative presentations at schools, sponsors local children's groups, and provides medical assistance at special events, such as the All-America City 10K Run/Walk in Edinburg; the organization is skillfully led by president and CEO Noe Ramon, Jr., and its staff is encouraged to pursue continuing education and participate in civic activities; and

22 WHEREAS, Valley EMS has demonstrated an unwavering 23 commitment to the health and well-being of area Texans, and its work 24 has benefited the greater community in myriad ways; now, therefore,

1

H.R. No. 2890

1 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
Legislature hereby honor Valley EMS, Inc., in conjunction with
Texas First Responders Day and commend all those associated with
the organization for their outstanding service; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Valley EMS as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Peña

H.R. No. 2890

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2890 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House