H.R. No. 2902

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Stephen Yearout and his son Asher Yearout of Garland
- 2 performed heroically on April 29, 2009, when they saved the life of
- 3 another young member of the Yearout family; and
- WHEREAS, On that day, four-year-old Asher Yearout found his
- 5 three-year-old brother, Aden, hanging by the neck from the cord of a
- 6 window blind in the family's playroom; and
- 7 WHEREAS, After asking his brother if he was okay and getting
- 8 no answer, young Asher quickly told his father that something was
- 9 wrong with Aden, and Mr. Yearout ran to the playroom; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mr. Yearout immediately cut the cord, breaking the
- 11 window and gashing his arm in the process; since Aden was not
- 12 breathing and had no pulse, Mr. Yearout began performing CPR while
- 13 waiting for the paramedics to arrive, thus saving his son's life;
- 14 and
- WHEREAS, Aden was released from the hospital the following
- 16 day, while Mr. Yearout, his injured arm bearing 26 staples, has
- 17 begun an Internet campaign to alert other parents to the dangers of
- 18 window blind cords; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Young Asher Yearout demonstrated maturity beyond
- 20 his years by recognizing that something was wrong and immediately
- 21 alerting his father; Mr. Yearout's rapid and correct response saved
- 22 the life of his son, and his efforts to save other families from a
- 23 similar crisis are further deserving of special recognition; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2902

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
Legislature hereby honor Stephen and Asher Yearout for saving the
life of Aden Yearout and extend to the entire Yearout family sincere
best wishes for continued health and happiness; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for father and son as an expression of high regard by the

Texas House of Representatives.

Kent Vaught Miklos Driver Button

ΗR	No.	2902

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2902 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House