H.R. No. 3044

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Enrique H. Peña was recognized with
- 2 the Mediator of the Year Award at the Law Day Dinner and Awards
- 3 Presentation hosted by the El Paso Bar Association on May 9, 2009;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, A retired district judge, Enrique Peña is an alumnus
- 6 of the University of Houston Law School, and he presided over the
- 7 327th Judicial District Court for two decades; he has served as a
- 8 mediator since 1991, and he is the cofounder of Texas Arbitration
- 9 Mediation Services, Inc., in El Paso; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The Law Day Dinner provides an opportunity for
- 11 members of the El Paso Bar Association to honor lawyers and others
- 12 for their professional achievements, service to the legal
- 13 profession, and contributions to their community; the Mediator of
- 14 the Year Award is named for Judge Peña as a tribute to his exemplary
- 15 dedication to promoting the use of alternative dispute resolution
- 16 as well as to his effectiveness as a mediator, and he truly merits
- 17 the special honor that this accolade accords him; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Embodying the highest standards of his profession,
- 19 Judge Peña has garnered the lasting respect and admiration of his
- 20 colleagues, and he may indeed reflect with great pride on the
- 21 positive impact he has had on his community; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Judge Enrique H. Peña on his
- 24 receipt of the Mediator of the Year Award from the El Paso Bar

H.R. No. 3044

- 1 Association and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 2 success and happiness; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Judge Peña as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

Chavez

II.IV. NO. JOH	Η.	.R.	No.	3044
----------------	----	-----	-----	------

\_\_\_\_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3044 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House