By: Duncan

S.B. No. 1166

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT 2 relating to the duties and salary of the county attorney of Swisher County and the election and duties of the district attorney for the 3 64th Judicial District. 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 5 6 SECTION 1. Section 43.134(a), Government Code, is amended 7 to read as follows: The voters of Hale County [and Swisher counties] elect a 8 (a) 9 district attorney for the 64th Judicial District who represents the state in that district court only in Hale County [those counties]. 10 11 SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 45, Government Code, is 12 amended by adding Section 45.319 to read as follows: Sec. 45.319. SWISHER COUNTY. The county attorney in 13 14 Swisher County shall represent the state in all matters pending before the district court in Swisher County. 15 16 SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to read as follows: 17 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 18 applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors, 19 20 and the following state prosecutors: 21 (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 22 23 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 24

1

64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th,
 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th,
 123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th,
 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th,
 271st, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, and 506th judicial
 districts;

S.B. No. 1166

7 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties 8 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 9 10 Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, 11 12 Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, 13 14 Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Freestone, Lamar, Lamb,
Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, <u>Swisher,</u> Terry, Webb,
and Willacy.

21

SECTION 4. This Act takes effect September 1, 2009.

2