1-1 By: Duncan S.B. No. 1166 1-2 1-3 (In the Senate - Filed February 26, 2009; March 13, 2009, read first time and referred to Committee on Jurisprudence; April 14, 2009, reported favorably by the following vote: Yeas 7, 1-4 Nays 0; April 14, 2009, sent to printer.) 1-5 1-6 1-7 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT 1-8 relating to the duties and salary of the county attorney of Swisher County and the election and duties of the district attorney for the 1-9 1-10 1-11 64th Judicial District. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 1-12 SECTION 1. Subsection (a), Section 43.134, Government Code, 1-13 is amended to read as follows: (a) The voters of Hale <u>County</u> [and <u>Swisher counties</u>] elect a district attorney for the 64th Judicial District who represents the 1-14 1**-**15 1**-**16 state in that district court only in Hale County [those counties]. SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 45, Government Code, is amended by adding Section 45.319 to read as follows: 1-17 1-18 1-19 Sec. 45.319. SWISHER COUNTY. The county attorney in 1-20 1-21 1-22 Swisher County shall represent the state in all matters pending before the district court in Swisher County. SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to read as follows: 1-23 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 1-24 1**-**25 1**-**26 applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors, and the following state prosecutors: (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg 1-27 Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, and 506th judicial 1-28 1-29 1-30 1-31 1-32 1-33 1-34 1-35 1-36 districts; 1-37 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 1-38 1-39 Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, 1-40 1-41 1-42 Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of 1-43 1-44 1-45 1-46 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, 1-47 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Freestone, Lamar, Lamb, 1-48 Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, <u>Swisher,</u> Terry, Webb, 1-49 1-50 and Willacy. 1-51 SECTION 4. This Act takes effect September 1, 2009. * * * * * 1-52

1