By: Ellis S.C.R. No. 41

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1

22

23

24

2 WHEREAS, The 81st Legislature of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the 2009 honorees of the Texas Medal of Arts 3 4 Awards; and WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts Awards are presented by the 5 6 Texas Cultural Trust Council and pay tribute to Texans who have made important contributions to a variety of artistic disciplines in the 7 8 state; and WHEREAS, The arts enrich, educate, and broaden the lives of 9 10 citizens in our state, and these awards recognize and encourage the 11 development of the arts through personal achievement or unfailing 12 support; and 13 WHEREAS, The following individuals and institutions will be presented medals for 2009: Laura W. Bush, Standing Ovation; Robert 14 15 Rauschenberg, Lifetime Achievement; Lake/Flato Architects, Arts Education; James Dick, Anheuser 16 Architecture; 17 Companies, Corporate Arts Patron; Robert Rodriguez, Film; Edith 18 O'Donnell, Individual Arts Patron; Austin City Limits, Multimedia; Clint Black, Music; T. R. Fehrenbach, Literary Arts; Betty Buckley, 19 Theatre Arts; and Keith Carter, Visual Arts; and 20 21 WHEREAS, The arts enhance the quality of life in Texas and add

to the rich cultural heritage of the state, and the artists and arts

patrons honored by the Texas Medal of Arts Awards help ensure the

future of the arts and arts education in our state; now, therefore,

S.C.R. No. 41

- 1 be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas
- 3 hereby commend the honorees of the 2009 Texas Medal of Arts Awards
- 4 for their dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and,
- 5 be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared in their
- 7 honor as an expression of the esteem of the Texas Legislature.