SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 2

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Honorable Paul Moreno for his many years of outstanding service to his constituents and to our state; and

WHEREAS, Representative Paul Moreno is a native of El Paso, where he grew up in El Segundo Barrio; following his graduation from high school, he served the nation for six years as a member of the United States Marine Corps before earning a bachelor's degree from The University of Texas at El Paso; and

WHEREAS, First elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 1967, Representative Moreno became the longest-serving Hispanic elected official in the nation; he is a veteran of 20 regular legislative sessions, and he served as dean of the Texas House of Representatives; and

WHEREAS, Representative Moreno is committed to the proposition that every citizen is entitled to effective legal representation, and to that end, he cofounded El Paso Legal Assistance; he is also a founding member of the Tejano Democrats; throughout his tenure in the legislature, he has given voice to the poor, the disabled, and the disenfranchised; and

WHEREAS, Representative Moreno was considered by many to be the "Conscience of the House" because of his passionate advocacy for those less fortunate; a dedicated and commendable public servant, he is respected and admired by his colleagues, and the Texas House of Representatives is a better place for having benefitted from his many years of service within it; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas hereby commend Representative Paul Moreno on his many achievements and contributions as a member of the Texas House of Representatives and extend to him sincere gratitude for his exemplary service and his commitment to our state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 13, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate