SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 18

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. C. Ellis Nelson for his dedication to the study of theology and his many contributions to the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary; and

WHEREAS, A native of Galveston, Dr. Nelson is a 1937 graduate of Austin College in Sherman; he later earned a master's degree from The University of Texas at Austin and a doctorate from Columbia University; in addition, he received a divinity degree from Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary and was ordained into the ministry; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Nelson's long and productive career has enabled him to make a difference in the lives of students around the nation and the world; he has taught at locations as diverse as Union Theological Seminary in New York, San Francisco Theological Seminary, and Ormond College at the University of Melbourne in Australia; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Nelson has served the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary in many capacities, including research professor and interim president; he has published widely in numerous scholarly journals and has written seven books, including, most recently, Growing Up Christian: A Congregational Strategy for Nurturing Disciples, which he wrote at the age of 92; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Nelson has received numerous honors and awards during his distinguished career, and the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary has named an endowed faculty chair in Christian education in honor of Dr. Nelson and his wife, Nancy Gribble Nelson; now, therefore, be it

Nancy Gribble Nelson; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
Legislature, hereby commend Dr. C. Ellis Nelson on his many
contributions to Christian education and extend to him best
wishes for continued success in all his future endeavors; and, be
it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 26, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate