## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 19

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Fulbright American Studies Institute for Korean Secondary School Teachers of English and to extend a warm welcome to the Korean exchange teachers participating in this outstanding program as they visit Texas from January 4, 2009, through February 19, 2009; and

WHEREAS, The Fulbright American Studies Institute for Korean Secondary School Teachers of English is one of 51 nonprofit Fulbright Commissions worldwide, whose board of directors are Koreans and Americans representing government, education, and the private sector; since its establishment in Austin in 2002, the institute's professional and scholarly exchange program has helped promote understanding between the United States and Korea; and

WHEREAS, The Korean teachers enhance their knowledge of American English as a Second Language teaching methodology, techniques, and materials as well as their understanding of American culture and society; and

WHEREAS, The Korean teachers develop relationships with American colleagues and improve their English skills through advanced content-based instruction and reinforcement of language-learning strategies; and

WHEREAS, The program includes a four-week residency in Austin, a two-week secondary school site residency in schools around the state of Texas, and finishes with a one-week period of reflection and integration back in Austin; and

WHEREAS, The Korean teachers will observe a variety of secondary school classes, coteach portions of English as a second language classes, give cultural presentations on Korea, collaborate with teacher mentors, and observe schoolwide activities at their host schools; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Woody Smith is the institute's program coordinator, and Dr. Terry Simon is the academic director, while Benné Willerman, Charles Seltzer, Dr. John Schmidt, Mimi Parris, Karen Easterday, Emily Spurgeon, and Gail Sue Kasun are the participating Texas International Education Consortium faculty members; and

WHEREAS, The Korean high school exchange teachers visiting Texas are Jongnam Bae, Jae Hong Cho, In Sook Choi, Taeju Im, Eun Jeong Jee, Kyu Sun Kim, Young Suk Kim, Seanae Kwon, Soon Deok Kwon, Jung Hee Lee, Kwanglok Lee, Soonchul Lee, Sujin Lee, Kyongchul Myong, Eunhee Park, Jinhack Park, Kyung Mi Park, Mi Young Song, Jeongwon Yang, and Tae Sung Yoon; and

S.R. No. 19

WHEREAS, The Korean middle school exchange teachers are Miyoung Cho, Younghee Choi, Young Eun Harm, Eunyoung Kang, Se Yong Kang, Eun Seon Kim, Jungyeol Kim, Min Jin Kim, Jung Yul Ko, Hoonam Kwon, Eun Ju Lee, Kyungmi Lee, Yu Jin Lee, Kyung Sook Park, Hee Jung Woo, Jungin Yang, and Yunkyung Yoon; and the Korean elementary school teachers are Jinsuk Kim and Heeyeol Park; and

WHEREAS, It is a genuine pleasure to offer these teachers the warm hospitality of the Lone Star State, and it is sincerely hoped that their visit is a most enjoyable one; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby extend a warm welcome to the Korean teachers visiting Texas and recognize them as Honorary Texans with all attendant rights and privileges; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 26, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate