SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 33

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize and pay tribute to the members of the United States military who have so honorably served our great nation and state in the armed services and join all Texans in observing January 27, 2009, as Wounded Warrior Day at the Texas State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The soldiers, sailors, airmen, and Marines of the United States military and their families have made extraordinary sacrifices to serve our nation both abroad and within our own borders; and

WHEREAS, Of the more than 1.6 million members of the United States military who have been deployed since 2001 to Afghanistan and Iraq, 195,241 have been from Texas; of the 33,608 service members who have been wounded in these conflicts, 3,190 have been from Texas; and

WHEREAS, We are blessed to honor today the wounded warriors who have returned from these conflicts, including Lance Corporal David Molina, Staff Sergeant Shawn Green, Staff Sergeant Leroy Petry, Sergeant James Ford, Specialist Razan Saied, and Corporal Alan R. Babin, Jr.; without their willingness to serve and the contributions made by them and their families, we could not enjoy many of the freedoms that make this nation great; and

WHEREAS, These veterans have bravely and selflessly served in defense of our nation and its democratic ideals; with silent dedication and unmatched grit, they ensure our safety and security, and it is indeed fitting that all Texans recognize, honor, and reaffirm their gratitude to these true American heroes; and

WHEREAS, Although these veterans represent many different hometowns and backgrounds, what unites them is greater than what divides them—a deep and abiding love of their country; it is for America and all Americans that they leave their homes and their family and friends in order to guarantee the continuation of those freedoms etched into the Declaration of Independence and ensured by our Constitution; and

WHEREAS, It is for our service members' willingness to serve to protect these freedoms that we honor them; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend the wounded warriors of our nation for their sacrifice, dedication, and patriotism, recognizing them, honoring them, and reaffirming the gratitude of all Texans to these true American heroes; and, be it further

S.R. No. 33

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the dedication and sacrifice of the men and women of the United States armed services and their families.

Averitt Carona Davis Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife	Harris Hegar Hinojosa Huffman Jackson Lucio Nelson	Seliger Shapiro Shapleigh Uresti Watson Wentworth West
Eltife	Nelson	West
Estes	Nichols	Whitmire
Fraser	Ogden	Williams
Gallegos	Patrick	Zaffirini
darregob	Tacifon	20111111

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 27, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate