SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 34

WHEREAS, Members of the Association of Texas Professional Educators are visiting the State Capitol on January 26, 2009, in conjunction with ATPE Day at the Capitol; and WHEREAS, The Association of Texas Professional Educators

WHEREAS, The Association of Texas Professional Educators is the preeminent educator association in Texas and the largest independent educators' association in the nation; and

WHEREAS, The association is owned and governed by a membership of more than 112,000 people, including classroom teachers, administrators, paraprofessional educators and school support staff, college students and teacher trainees, retired educators, and members of the general public; and

WHEREAS, The members of the association are committed to supporting quality public education and the professional rights and obligations of the education community; members believe they have an obligation to be effective, proactive leaders in the field of education while representing themselves and their profession; and

WHEREAS, The association encourages its members to be politically active individually and encourages its local units to foster interaction with local legislators and keep legislators knowledgeable about current educational issues and conditions; and

WHEREAS, ATPE Day at the Capitol is an event designed to facilitate direct interaction between legislators and educators and to engage members of the education community in the legislative process through political involvement training and Capitol visits; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby recognize January 26, 2009, as ATPE Day at the State Capitol and extend to association members and officers best wishes for an enjoyable and productive visit to Austin; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of the association as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 26, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate