SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 89

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the FamilyTime Crisis and Counseling Center in recognizing outstanding women who have played a major role in building strength in the community through their individual commitments and achievements; and

WHEREAS, The 13 women community leaders will be honored at the FamilyTime Crisis and Counseling Center's annual Women of Achievement Hearts of Gold Gala taking place at the Houston Airport Marriott on January 24, 2009; at the same time, the center is celebrating its 32 years of service; and

whereas, This year's honorees and the categories for which they are being recognized include Ruth Ann Goodwin, the Arts; Colene S. Joiner, Business; Janet Huberty, Community Activist; Peggy J. Pickens, Education; Ellen R. Delap, Entrepreneur; Karin Werlang, Homemaker; and Jennifer Dantzler, Human Services; and

Werlang, Homemaker; and Jennifer Dantzler, Human Services; and WHEREAS, Additional honorees are Linda Wuest, Medical; Noel Christine Boyd, Women's Advocate; Brigitte Collee, Visionary; Marilyn Mann, Volunteer; Norma L. O'Donnell, Special Recognition; and Monica Kay Hains, Spirit of FamilyTime; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary women have excelled in their professional endeavors while making the time to spend countless hours doing volunteer work and building a better community for all; their dedication and service to their community are truly inspirational; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby extend congratulations to the recipients of the 2008 Women of Achievement awards and commend all those involved with FamilyTime Crisis and Counseling Center for their 32 years of valued service to their community; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of admiration from the Texas Senate.

Williams

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 3, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate