SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 113

In Memory of Joseph R. Burns

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of El Paso in mourning the loss of Joseph R. Burns, who died November 9, 2008, at the age of 78; and

WHEREAS, A native of New Orleans, Mr. Burns was acknowledged as a pioneer in El Paso law enforcement; he became the first African American patrol deputy in the El Paso County Sheriff's Office in 1966; and

Sheriff's Office in 1966; and WHEREAS, Mr. Burns served the nation in the Korean War as a member of the United States Army; he was captured by Chinese forces and spent nearly three years as a prisoner of war, surviving harsh conditions and malnutrition, and he was honored in the Congressional Record for his dedicated service; and

in the Congressional Record for his dedicated service; and WHEREAS, Following the war, Mr. Burns served at Fort Bliss as a member of the 591st Military Police Company; he joined the El Paso County Sheriff's Office in 1965 as one of only three African American jailers and the following year became the county's first African American patrol deputy, known for his calm demeanor and his ability to mentor and inspire others; and

WHEREAS, A man of courage, compassion, and quiet strength, he gave generously to others, and his wisdom, dauntless spirit, and valued counsel will not be forgotten by those who knew him; and

WHEREAS, He was a devoted husband and father, and his family and many friends will continue to live with the memories of his life and his many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family and friends of Joseph R. "Joe" Burns; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Joseph R. Burns.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 2, 2009, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate