SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 136

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Philip J. Huber, Jr., who is currently serving as president of the Dallas County Medical Society; and

WHEREAS, The son of a neurosurgeon, Philip Huber grew up in Royal Oak, Michigan, and graduated from Culver Military Academy; after attending Yale University, he graduated from medical school at Columbia in 1972 and interned at Parkland Hospital; and

WHEREAS, In 1980, he began his successful career with The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School; he began teaching as an assistant professor, and in 1998, he became vice chairman of the Department of Surgery; during his tenure he earned the Excellence in Teaching Award on 10 occasions; in 2001, he was honored with a Louis A. Buie Visiting Lecture appointment at the Mayo Clinic, and he was awarded the first Ernest Poulos Surgery Chair in 2002; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Huber began his private practice in January of 2005 and currently practices with Dr. Walton Taylor; he is often called upon to perform complex colorectal surgeries and has a good working relationship with Medical City Hospital and its staff; and

WHEREAS, As president of the Dallas County Medical Society, his vision for 2009 is to provide meaningful information and direction to its members, including highlighting the technical edge in patient care and implementing the HIE 5; he intends to focus on meetings and social networking opportunities and will be encouraging members to have their voices heard by elected officials; now, therefore, be it

elected officials; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Philip J. Huber, Jr., on his valuable leadership as president of the Dallas County Medical Society and extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in his honor.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 9, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate