SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 145

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Congress of Parents and Teachers, widely known as Texas PTA, on the grand occasion of its 100th anniversary, which is being celebrated throughout the year of 2009; and

WHEREAS, Since it was founded on October 19, 1909, this outstanding organization has been at the forefront in supporting the health, education, and well-being of our state's children while being a vital resource for parents, teachers, school administrators, and community leaders; and

WHEREAS, The first Mother's Club was formed in 1896 by Ella Caruthers Porter of Hillsboro; she went on to establish a Texas branch of the National Congress of Mothers at the State Fair of Texas in 1909; the first Texas PTA office was located in the Texas State Capitol from 1909 to 1932; and

WHEREAS, The Texas PTA worked to get laws passed that would lead to better conditions for children, including health inspection for public school children, the creation of a child welfare commission, and the establishment of kindergarten for younger children; it developed an educational campaign for birth registration and promoted an infant mortality survey; and

WHEREAS, Texas PTA now has more than 600,000 members in some 3,000 local groups across the state and has become a dominant force in protecting the health and welfare of Texas children and ensuring that they are provided a safe environment conducive to learning so that each child has the opportunity to reach his or her full potential; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 145

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend members of the Texas Congress of Parents and Teachers for the important work they have done on behalf of the young people of this state and extend to them best wishes for a memorable centennial celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

		Watson
Averitt Carona Davis Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife Estes Fraser Gallegos	Harris Hegar Hinojosa Huffman Jackson Lucio Nelson Nichols Ogden Patrick	Seliger Shapiro Shapleigh Uresti Van de Putte Wentworth West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini
Gallegos		Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 11, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate