SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 150

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join community leaders of Edwards County and citizens across the state in celebrating Edwards County Day at the State Capitol on February 9, 2009; and

WHEREAS, Edwards County is located in southwest Texas east of the Big Bend country and 100 miles west of San Antonio; the county encompasses 2,120 square miles of the Edwards Plateau and has more than 15 natural springs that flow year-round; and

WHEREAS, Named for Hayden Edwards, one of the first American settlers of Nacogdoches, the county was once home to the Lipan Apache; Spanish missionaries established the mission of San Lorenzo de la Santa Cruz in 1762 to Christianize the native population but were otherwise unable to settle the area; and

WHEREAS, Early settlers discovered that the area offered an ample natural food supply for sheep and Angora goats; ranching became the dominant industry, and to this day the county is a top producer of mohair, with the town of Rocksprings calling itself the "Top-o-the-World" in mohair production; and

WHEREAS, Edwards County celebrates the wool and mohair industry every year in May at the Top-o-the-World festival, and the annual Fourth of July rodeo and parade attracts many visitors; the county is also home to the impressive Devil's Sinkhole, with its 150-foot sheer walls and population of thousands of Mexican free-tailed bats; and

WHEREAS, The citizens of Edwards County are rightly proud of its distinguished history and the many contributions its people have made to the growth and progress of our state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby recognize February 9, 2009, as Edwards County Day and extend to the county's citizens a heartfelt welcome to the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Uresti

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 9, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate