SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 152

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize former Texas Governor Dolph Briscoe, who has been selected as the 2009 recipient of the Santa Rita Award from The University of Texas System; and

WHEREAS, Given annually to those who have contributed in a substantive way to The University of Texas System in its development efforts, the Santa Rita Award serves to acknowledge Governor Briscoe's long and productive relationship with the Center for American History on the campus of The University of Texas at Austin; and

WHEREAS, Governor Briscoe has worked for many years to ensure that the Center for American History remains one of the premier research institutes in the world; he has served on its advisory council and donated more than \$15 million in funding, and in 2007, the Dolph and Janey Briscoe Fund for Texas History was established to support research activities at the center; and

WHEREAS, Governor Briscoe's generosity has transformed the center's collecting abilities, and in recognition of his many contributions, the center was recently renamed the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History; and

Center for American History; and
WHEREAS, Governor Briscoe has served our state with
distinction, honor, and integrity for more than 50 years; he is
the quintessential Texan and justly deserving of recognition for
his service and his many accomplishments on behalf of the people
of Texas; now, therefore, be it

of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
Legislature, hereby commend former Governor Dolph Briscoe on his
legacy of exceptional service to higher education in our state
and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his
endeavors; and, be it further

endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Uresti

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 11, 2009.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate