SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 234

WHEREAS, Board members from the John Goodwin Tower Center for Political Studies at Southern Methodist University are gathering at the State Capitol on February 17, 2009; and

WHEREAS, Offering intellectual discourse, lively debate, and thought-provoking research, the Tower Center supports teaching and research programs in international studies and national security policy; the center reaches out to the greater community through its sponsorship of conferences, seminars, and public lectures by world leaders; and

WHEREAS, The program was named in honor of former three-term United States Senator John Goodwin Tower, the first elected Republican to hold a United States Senate seat from Texas since Reconstruction; and

WHEREAS, Reaching students from middle school through postdoctoral studies, the center places a special emphasis on undergraduate teaching and works to encourage students' interest in public service; enabling scholars to pursue research in such topics as domestic and foreign policy and the global economy, the program contributes to informed debate on the public policy challenges that confront our nation and the world; and

WHEREAS, Those accomplished men and women who study politics and international affairs at the Tower Center are engaged in the vital issues of our day, and it is indeed appropriate to honor the center and the future leaders of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
Legislature, hereby recognize February 17, 2009, as John Goodwin
Tower Center for Political Studies Day at the State Capitol and
extend to the center's visiting delegation sincere best wishes
for a memorable stay in Austin; and, be it further

for a memorable stay in Austin; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a memento of this special day.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 17, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate