SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 240

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Jorge H. Salinas for his 16 years of outstanding service with the Hidalgo County Housing Authority; and

WHEREAS, A longtime resident of Elsa, Jorge excelled in high school football as an Edcouch-Elsa Yellow Jacket, and he continues today to be a great supporter of the district's athletic programs; he married Esperanza Saldivar, and together they raised two sons, Jorge Salinas, Jr., and Rolando; and WHEREAS, Prior to joining the Hidalgo County Housing

WHEREAS, Prior to joining the Hidalgo County Housing Authority, Jorge worked at Texas Plastics and served as executive director of the Elsa Housing Authority; and

WHEREAS, During his tenure with the Hidalgo County Housing Authority, Jorge has been dedicated to providing high-quality management of area developments and to taking care of the needs of area citizens; and

WHEREAS, Committed to providing low-income families with housing that is decent, safe, and affordable, he has earned the respect of Hidalgo County residents; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary citizen, Jorge has given generously of his time and energy to the county; although he officially retired in November of 2008, he continues to be in close contact with the Hidalgo County Housing Authority as he manages the construction project at Northside; and

WHEREAS, During his retirement years, Jorge will continue to be a leader in his community and to enjoy his hunting lease and his longtime involvement with county, state, and national politics; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Jorge H. Salinas for his dedication to his work with the Hidalgo County Housing Authority and express appreciation to him for his many accomplishments; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 17, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate