SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 247

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to the Houston Northwest Chapter of National Women of the Houston Achievement, Incorporated, in paying tribute to the 2009 honorees of its annual Profiles of Prominence scholarship program at a breakfast on February 28, 2009; and

WHEREAS, National Women of Achievement is an outstanding

organization that encourages women and young people to strive for excellence in their academic pursuits, to maintain high moral and ethical standards, and to make lasting contributions in their chosen career fields; and

WHEREAS, The theme for the Houston Northwest Chapter's 16th annual Profiles of Prominence scholarship breakfast is "Waiting to Excel"; the organization will honor young men and women for

excellence in academics and sports, good citizenship, leadership, and service to their schools and the community; and WHEREAS, The 2009 honorees are Jaylin Sweat, Andryia Neutton, Christian Williams, Ashantaray Routt, Raquel Davis, Aaron Kingsberry, Chelsea Jones, Edward Taylor, Octavia Hull, Jabbar Hasan, Shaunice Hawkins-Paige, Jarvis Hooper, and Tyler Guillory; and

WHEREAS, The Houston Northwest Chapter of National Women of Achievement, Incorporated, seeks to value, encourage, and embrace these young honorees as they endeavor to live their lives in a positive manner and rise above any negative influences; now, therefore, be it

That the Senate of the State of Texas, RESOLVED, Legislature, hereby extend congratulations to the 2009 Profiles of Prominence honorees of the Houston Northwest Chapter of National Women of Achievement, Incorporated, and extend to all best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Whitmire

President of the Senate I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 18, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate