## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 358

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Sulphur Springs High School football team, which won the 2008 Class 4A Division II state championship at the Alamodome in December, 2008; and

WHEREAS, The Sulphur Springs Wildcats defeated the Dayton Broncos 69-49 to earn the school's first state football championship and end the season with a 14-2 record; their head coach, Greg Owens, was named the Class 4A Coach of the Year by the Texas Sports Writers Association; and

WHEREAS, Players on the football team are all stellar athletes; throughout the season, they demonstrated exceptional talent, perseverance, team unity, and respect for the highest ideals of sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, Coach Owens is a 1986 graduate of Sulphur Springs High School and returned to his alma mater three years ago to coach the team he has now led to the state championship; he is noted for his outstanding leadership and his ability to develop rapport with students and inspire them to work hard and achieve their goals; and

WHEREAS, The Sulphur Springs community can be justifiably proud of the Wildcats football team and their coaches for their impressive skills, their fine sportsmanship, and their championship season; now, therefore, be it

championship season; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
Legislature, hereby congratulate the players, Coach Greg Owens,
the coaching staff, and the supporters of the Sulphur Springs
High School football team on winning the 2008 Class 4A Division
II state championship title and extend to all best wishes for the
future; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}, \ {\tt That} \ {\tt a} \ {\tt copy} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt this} \ {\tt Resolution} \ {\tt be} \ {\tt prepared} \ {\tt for} \ {\tt them} \ {\tt as} \ {\tt an} \ {\tt expression} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt esteem} \ {\tt from} \ {\tt the} \ {\tt Texas} \ {\tt Senate}.$ 

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 3, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate