SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 387

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Olivewood Cemetery in Houston, which has received the Texas Historic Cemetery designation; and

WHEREAS, The Olivewood Cemetery Association incorporated in 1875 and purchased 5.5 acres of the property where the cemetery is located; it added two adjacent acres in 1917; one of the oldest known platted cemeteries in Houston, Olivewood Cemetery was originally laid out along an elliptical drive, and it contains several hundred marked graves and a number of unmarked graves; and

WHEREAS, Many of the city's African American community leaders of the post-emancipation era are buried in the cemetery, including the Reverend Elias Dibble, pastor of Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church; James B. Bell, a businessman; and Richard Brock, an alderman and landowner; interred in the cemetery are attorneys, educators, physicians, laborers, military veterans, members of sororal and fraternal organizations, and ex-slaves; and

WHEREAS, The cemetery features obelisks and statues and includes examples of pre-emancipation burial practices: upright pipes that symbolize the path between the worlds of the living and the dead, ocean shells as grave ornaments, and text containing upside down or backwards letters as used in some West African cultures to signify death; and

WHEREAS, Olivewood Cemetery is a key historical site in Houston; its designation as a Historic Texas Cemetery signifies for future generations the importance of the cemetery in the history of this state; now, therefore, be it

history of this state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
Legislature, hereby recognize the Olivewood Cemetery as a
Historic Texas Cemetery: and, be it further

Historic Texas Cemetery; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the cemetery's significance to the history of this state.

Gallegos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 9, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate