SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 405

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Patrick Foster of Sachse, who has been named one of the top two youth volunteers in Texas for 2009 by the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program; and

WHEREAS, Prudential Financial, in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals, presents these awards annually to honor young people across the nation for outstanding volunteerism and community service; now in its 14th year, the program is the country's largest youth recognition program based solely on volunteer service; and

WHEREAS, A senior at Sachse High School, Patrick, along with his sister Tania, cofounded a nonprofit organization that has raised nearly \$300,000 in merchandise and cash donations to support American troops serving overseas; their organization has joined forces with the United States Department of Defense's "America Supports You" network and has distributed its largesse to more than 20,000 troops on 43 military bases; and

to more than 20,000 troops on 43 military bases; and
WHEREAS, The success and vitality of our communities, our
state, and our American society depend in great measure upon the
dedication of young people like Patrick, who use their time and
talents to serve others; and

talents to serve others; and

WHEREAS, Patrick has shown by his example that he personifies the true spirit of giving to the community; he is truly deserving of recognition for receiving this prestigious honor: now, therefore, he it

honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
Legislature, hereby extend congratulations to Patrick Foster for
his recognition as one of our state's top youth volunteers and
extend best wishes to him in all his future endeavors; and, be it
further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 10, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate