## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 413

## In Memory of María Rosa Ramírez

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Laredo in mourning the loss of Señorita María Rosa Ramírez, who died January 27, 2009, at the age of 98; and

Ramírez, who died January 27, 2009, at the age of 98; and WHEREAS, A longtime and beloved teacher of many generations of Laredoans, Señorita Ramírez was born and reared in Laredo; her passion for learning was cultivated by her parents from the time she was very young, and she was reading newspaper articles aloud to them by the age of four; and

articles aloud to them by the age of four; and
WHEREAS, Señorita Ramírez earned her bachelor's degree in
1931 and embarked on a career in teaching that would span 51
years; she began teaching elementary school, according to the
custom of the time, and by the 1950s she had a master's degree and
had established herself as a teacher of Spanish, her area of
expertise; and

WHEREAS, Known for wanting her students to attain complete mastery of the spoken language, she perfected the audio lingual method, which she went on to demonstrate across the state at the behest of the Texas Education Agency; she was named by President Gerald Ford as one of the Outstanding Teachers in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Señorita Ramírez was a woman of great dignity who instilled in her students the desire to succeed and a lifelong love of learning; her family and friends will continue to live with the memories of her life and her many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family and friends of Señorita María Rosa Ramírez; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Señorita María Rosa Ramírez.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 10, 2009, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate