SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 470

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pleasure in recognizing the Thurgood Marshall Legal Society, the local chapter of the National Black Law Students Association at The University of Texas School of Law; and

WHEREAS, The society is hosting its annual awards banquet on March 27, 2009; the banquet is a tradition that brings together current members, alumni, and future law students; it serves as an opportunity to recognize the hard work of members of the organization and to award scholarships, as well as to celebrate the organization's accomplishments; and

WHEREAS, This year, the society's achievements include earning the title of Chapter of the Year at the annual Rocky Mountain Black Law Student Association conference and winning first place in the Regional Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition; in addition, the society created The University of Texas School of Law Diversity Education Weekend and the Ashaki Young Women's Program and Young Men's Program; and

WHEREAS, The Ashaki programs were developed in collaboration with the Austin Alternative Learning Center; the programs help young black women and men to recognize their self-worth and personal potential through mentorship and leadership exercises and to better understand commitment, peer pressure, and their goals and expectations for their own lives; and

WHEREAS, The Thurgood Marshall Legal Society's many valuable civic, educational, and charitable programs are truly making a lasting difference in the community at large; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend the Thurgood Marshall Legal Society at The University of Texas School of Law on its numerous accomplishments and its valuable contributions to the university and the community; and, be it further

and the community; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the Thurgood Marshall Legal Society.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 19, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate