SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 474

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize PediPlace on the occasion of the organization's 15th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, PediPlace is a nonprofit pediatric clinic that provides quality health care for children who have no access to health care services due to economic, geographic, or cultural barriers; and

WHEREAS, Since its founding in 1994, PediPlace has served more than 40,000 children, largely from low-income families, residing in Denton, Dallas, Tarrant, and Collin Counties; in 2008, more than 4,500 children were seen on nearly 19,000 office visits; and

WHEREAS, The success of PediPlace is a testament to the outstanding leadership of its board of directors, including president Linda Burney-Fuhr, vice president Lynn Benjamin, vice president Paula Wagner, treasurer Larry Smith, secretary Becky Kerbow, member-at-large Cary Wigington, immediate past president Barbie Barta, board members the Reverend Dr. John Allen, Shane Allen, Dr. Stewart Coffman, Melissa DeWitt, Mike Frye, Dr. Ralph Fitzgerald, Carol Longacre, Spud Newton, John O'Neill, Dr. Jerry Roy, Cleve Ryan, and Dr. Stephen Smalley, and ex officio and legal advisor to the board Jeff Brannen; and

WHEREAS, To kick off celebrations for the organization's anniversary, PediPlace representatives and the Coppell Chamber of Commerce members held a ribbon-cutting ceremony on January 15, 2009, and the Flower Mound and Lewisville Chambers of Commerce held a Business Night Out; on March 26, the founders of

S.R. No. 474

PediPlace, Dr. Mark Holt and Dr. Darla Kincaid, are being honored for their exceptional work at a gala dinner at Celebrations; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby extend congratulations to the founders and staff of PediPlace and to all in the community who help support this invaluable health care clinic; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the 15th anniversary of PediPlace.

Nelson, Harris

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 19, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate