SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 485

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the citizens of Hopkins County and Texans across the state in celebrating April 1, 2009, as Hopkins County Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Home to a majestic county courthouse built by master architect James Riely Gordon, Hopkins County possesses a history rich in tradition; and

WHEREAS, The county seat of Sulphur Springs is on the site where free-flowing springs of sulphur water and fresh water once existed; these springs drew Native Americans to the area for many years, and after the arrival of Anglo settlers, the springs attracted people from all over the nation for their curative power; and

WHEREAS, The history of Sulphur Springs has provided many testaments to the importance of the area to our state; the city was home to the Hampton House, which is said to have been the hiding place of Confederate documents and exiles, and to many pioneer newspapers, and the first steam-powered factory in the region; and

WHEREAS, Following World War II, Sulphur Springs initiated a new city government, which provided such amenities as a city park, a swimming pool, a rodeo arena, and baseball and football stadiums; and

WHEREAS, Today, Hopkins County is a place where hard-working citizens are dedicated to making the area an outstanding place in which to live, work, and raise a family; and

1

S.R. No. 485

WHEREAS, The citizens of Hopkins County are rightly proud of the county's rich history and the many contributions its people have made to the growth and progress of our state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend the citizens of Hopkins County on their many contributions to the rich legacy of our state and extend to them best wishes for a memorable Hopkins County Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special day.

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 1, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate