SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 492

WHEREAS, Chris Miller of Keller High School has been recognized for outstanding achievement in the 2009 Texas Academic Decathlon, placing fourth overall out of 360 competitors; and

WHEREAS, The most prestigious high school academic team competition in the United States, the Academic Decathlon was founded on the precept that everyone's learning potential can be maximized through competitive challenge; like the athletic contest, the Academic Decathlon does not permit participants to specialize but rather requires students to prepare for all 10 scholastic events, which include art, economics, essay, interview, language and literature, mathematics, music, science, social science, and speech; a program designed to include and encourage all students, the decathlon calls for each competing high school to enter a team of nine, consisting of three "A" or honor students, three "B" or scholastic students, and three "C" or varsity students; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Miller demonstrated his exceptional knowledge and skill by earning second-place awards in economics and math and by finishing third in the interview element of the competition; he received a \$500 scholarship for his performance; and

WHEREAS, Chris Miller has earned the respect and admiration of his friends and classmates at Keller High School, and as he embraces a future bright with promise, it is most fitting to pay tribute to him for his superior accomplishments in the Texas Academic Decathlon; now, therefore, be it

the Texas Academic Decathlon; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
Legislature, hereby congratulate Chris Miller on his excellent
showing in the 2009 Texas Academic Decathlon and extend to him
sincere best wishes for continued success in the years to come;
and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mr. Miller as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Davis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 20, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate