SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 521

WHEREAS, The Brazos Bend State Park Volunteer Organization is marking its 20th anniversary in 2009; and

WHEREAS, A group of dedicated men and women joined together to form the Brazos Bend State Park Volunteer Organization in 1989, recognizing the significant contributions they could collectively make to their local state park; and

WHEREAS, Since that time, the site has benefited from its nonprofit partner's status through the revenue generated by the Nature Center Gift Shop, grants, and other donations, sources that generated more than \$450,000 in 2008 alone; and

WHEREAS, The Brazos Bend State Park Volunteer Organization provided nearly 20,000 hours of invaluable service last year; in addition to staffing the Nature Center, members attended intensive semiannual training and provided interpretive programming, conducted outreach events, and hosted on-site special events; and

WHEREAS, The experience of park visitors has also been greatly enhanced by volunteer efforts to maintain the facility and trails, manage resources, and control vegetation; and

WHEREAS, For its exceptional work, the Brazos Bend State Park Volunteer Organization was honored with the 2000 Texas Parks and Wildlife Department's Lone Star Legends "Partnership" Award; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and citizens of the Lone Star State are fortunate to have such a dedicated group of individuals to serve as stewards and advocates for their chosen state park; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend all those associated with the Brazos Bend State Park Volunteer Organization for the many contributions the organization has made to the park and extend to them congratulations on their 20th anniversary celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the group as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Huffman

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 25, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate