SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 526

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the DeSoto High School boys' basketball team, which won the University Interscholastic League Class 5A state championship on March 14, 2009; and

WHEREAS, The DeSoto Eagles defeated neighboring rival Cedar Hill 59-47 and ended the season with an excellent 40-9 record; the Eagles defeated previously unbeaten and nationally ranked Houston Strake Jesuit 48-44 on March 13 to advance to the championship game; and

WHEREAS, Members of the DeSoto High School team exhibited perseverance, team unity, and respect for the highest ideals of sportsmanship; they demonstrated their exceptional talent and the discipline instilled in them by head coach Chris Dyer and assistant coaches George Golden and Kory McIver; and

WHEREAS, The victorious DeSoto High School Eagles are seniors Taylor Alexander, Alex Wilson, Andrew Ensley, and Dominique Bennett, who was named the championship game's most valuable player; juniors Derico Dandridge, Darius Terrell, Gerodd Calahan, Derius Bolton, Keith Davis, and Evan Washington; and sophomores Deon Pleasant and Antawn Space; and

WHEREAS, The DeSoto community takes great pride in the DeSoto High School boys' basketball team for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend the players, coaches, and support staff of the DeSoto High School boys' basketball team for their outstanding achievements and extend congratulations to them on winning the University Interscholastic League 2009 Class 5A state championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as a memento of this significant accomplishment.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 1, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate