SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 547

WHEREAS, The Cedar Hill High School boys' basketball team proved itself one of the finest 5A teams in Texas during the 2008-2009 season, advancing all the way to the title game in the University Interscholastic League championship tournament; and

WHEREAS, Posting an overall season record of 35 wins and only 5 losses, the Longhorns claimed the Region 1 championship and went on to earn a spot in the state tournament final with a thrilling 61-58 victory over Wagner High School of San Antonio in their semifinal round contest; the game was sealed at the final buzzer with a last-second three-point shot by guard Tanner Milson; and

WHEREAS, Nearly 9,000 people turned out for the title matchup between Cedar Hill and the Eagles of DeSoto High School, and the Longhorns put together a strong game on both ends of the floor; Cedar Hill outrebounded its opponent and shot better from the foul line, but ultimately fell by a score of 59-47 to finish as 5A runner-up; and

WHEREAS, Championship play depends first and foremost on effective teamwork, and valuable roles were played by all members of the Longhorns squad; in addition to Mr. Milson, the roster includes Shawn Glover, Thomas Gipson, Anthony Wilson, Tayler Jacobs, Oliver Wells, Delton Doxey, Jourdan Isom, Kendrick Fugett, Billy Johnson, Marque Johnson, Zeldric King, Bryce Pearson, Jerran Young, and Clayton Bright; and

WHEREAS, These exceptional competitors were directed by head coach David Milson, who completed his 23rd year at the helm

1

S.R. No. 547

of Cedar Hill during the 2008-2009 season; the Longhorns also benefited from the expertise provided by assistant coaches Vernall Cole, Billy Linson, Garrett Hilton, Clifton McDaniel, and Doug Barnett; and

WHEREAS, Exhibiting a combination of outstanding talent and fierce determination, the Longhorns basketball team turned in inspiring performances all season long, and its success is a source of great pride to the Cedar Hill community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby congratulate the Cedar Hill boys' basketball team on its many accomplishments and its appearance in the 2009 University Interscholastic League 5A state championship tournament and extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 1, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate