SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 548

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the Mansfield Summit High School girls' basketball team, who won the University Interscholastic League Class 5A state title on March 7, 2009; and

WHEREAS, The Mansfield Summit High School Lady Jaguars took advantage of being the underdog in the championship game and stayed calm and focused to defeat the Houston Nimitz High School Lady Cougars 52-43; the Lady Jaguars finish the season with an excellent 34-4 record; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Summit High School team exhibited perseverance, team unity, and respect for the highest ideals of sportsmanship; they demonstrated exceptional talent and the discipline instilled in them by head coach Tammy Lusinger and assistant coaches Greg Peters, Carmen Woudstra, Peggy Till, and Sonia Bustamante; and

WHEREAS, The Summit High School champions are senior Starr Crawford, who was named Most Valuable Player; seniors Alisha Filmore and Brykia Sims; juniors Amy Moody, Paisley Campbell, Taylor Hooker, Breonna Tolliver, Breanna Harris, Lauren Martin, and Loren McDaniel; sophomores Jakayla Cage and Jacque Allen; and freshman Ashley Eli; and

WHEREAS, The girls' basketball team is a source of tremendous pride for the students and faculty at Summit High School, and it deserves recognition for its outstanding achievement; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 548

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby congratulate the players and coaching staff of the Mansfield Summit High School girls' basketball team on winning the University Interscholastic League Class 5A state basketball championship and extend to all best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Harris, Averitt, Davis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate