SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 558

WHEREAS, A 50th high school reunion is indeed a noteworthy occasion, and the members of the Marble Falls High School Class of 1959 are gathering on April 18, 2009, to commemorate this memorable milestone; and

WHEREAS, Many of the classmates have known each other since the first grade, and their friendships have grown richer with the passing years; as they recount their latest experiences and reflect on the trials and triumphs of the past half-century, there will no doubt be much laughter, along with some tears, and their class song, "You'll Never Walk Alone," and class motto, "Knowledge comes, wisdom lingers," will resonate with special significance; and

WHEREAS, Class of 1959 members include Bill Abbott, Carla Belknap Campbell, Linda Bertling Brown, Darrell Bible, Patsy Bingham DeLuna, Jimmy Bishop, Floyd Boatright, Cordella Boultinghouse Wagner, Dorothy Brown, Bonnie Cantwell Cain, Margie Carpenter Clark, Calvin Collier, Monte Damron Ryan, Dalton Ellebracht, Beverly Farmer Clement, Lucille Fluitt Tolson, Betty Forehand Platt, Joan Foster Yost, Madolyn Frasier, and Dale Fry; and

WHEREAS, Former Marble Falls Mustangs also include Karen Garcia Remmers, Detta Gibson Haffelder, Mike Gordon, Leonard Guenter, Charles Halliday, Ethel Hart Watts, Sue Carolyn Haynes Pine, Priscilla Hefner Stapleton, Johnny Heinze, Billie Henson Thompson, August "Lightning" Herrington, Betty Holden McGuffey, Doris Holden, Elberta Holloway Faubion, Helen Holloway, Travis "Sonny" Jackson, Patricia Lyda, Marjorie McKinnerny Phipps, and Bill McLaughlin; and

WHEREAS, In addition, the Class of 1959 roster includes Eddie Parker, Jimmy Peterson Merkle, Jodie Moore, Billy Keith Naumann, Fanny Penny Higgins, Robert "Tiger" Penny, Joe Ratliff, Evelyn Reeder, Roy Robinson, Kenneth Smith, Carol Snyder Collier, Sidney Stapleton, Jimmy Dan Taylor, Marilyn Thomasson Hambrick, Daniel Vasquez, Mary Warren Ulbricht, and Norman Williamson; and

WHEREAS, Those attending the reunion remember with deep affection their classmates who have passed on: Kendall "Boo Boo" Anderson, Clinton Frasier, Lisa Garcia Leal Rodriquez, Hazel Jackson Stieler, Eldon Lyda, Linda Mooney Norberg, Pat Sharp Jennings, Jimmie Walker, Judy Wilkes Whittington, and Margaret Williamson Kilgore; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, the members of the Class of 1959 have maintained their strong bonds with the invaluable assistance of Madolyn Frasier; the dedicated "keeper of the class," Ms. Frasier has preserved fond memories by chronicling

S.R. No. 558

the important events in the lives of her classmates and their families; moreover, she has organized annual reunions and regular get-togethers that foster the continuing camaraderie of this fine group, so notable that members of other classes have sometimes infiltrated Class of 1959 functions to enjoy the fun; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Class of 1959 are outstanding citizens and valued members of their communities, and as they gather to pay tribute to their alma mater, they acknowledge its deep and abiding influence in shaping their lives; at this time, it is a pleasure to recognize both the breadth of their accomplishments and their moving loyalty to their beloved school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby congratulate the members of the Marble Falls High School Class of 1959 on the occasion of their 50th high school reunion and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the class as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Carona

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 2, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate