## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 562

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the American Heart Association and citizens across the state and country in celebrating April 8, 2009, as National Start! Walking Day; and

WHEREAS, Each year, 1.26 million Americans suffer a new or recurrent coronary attack, and cardiovascular disease is the nation's leading cause of death, with direct and indirect costs estimated to amount to \$475.3 billion in 2009; and

WHEREAS, Regular walking or other physical activity reduces the risk of cardiovascular disease and increases life expectancy; the American Heart Association recommends that children engage in at least one hour of physical activity each day and that adults engage in two and one-half hours of moderate activity each week; and

WHEREAS, In addition to increasing life expectancy, regular walking has many other proven health benefits; brisk walking for 30 minutes every day can lower cholesterol and high blood pressure and can help overweight individuals achieve and maintain weight loss and reduce risk of stroke; and

WHEREAS, One of the best investments a company can make is in the health of its employees, and by promoting a culture of physical activity, corporate America can decrease health care costs, increase productivity, and improve the quality of life and longevity of the American worker; and

WHEREAS, National Start! Walking Day provides an opportunity to heighten public awareness of the importance of physical activity and serves as a day of inspiration for all Americans to Start! Walking; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend the American Heart Association for its outstanding work on behalf of our country's citizens and urge all Texans to celebrate National Start! Walking Day; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of National Start! Walking Day.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 2, 2009.

## Secretary of the Senate