SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 565

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Kern Wildenthal for his distinguished career and inspiring leadership in the fields of medicine, education, administration, and philanthropy; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Kern Wildenthal served as president of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center for 22 years before his retirement in the fall of 2008; he was dean of the graduate school for four years and dean of the medical school for six years before becoming president in 1986; and

WHEREAS, His association with Southwestern began in 1960, when he was admitted to the medical school at the age of 18; he graduated in 1964, completed training in internal medicine and cardiology, and earned a doctorate in cell physiology from the University of Cambridge in 1970; and

WHEREAS, As president, Dr. Wildenthal guided Southwestern Medical Center's exceptional growth and its ascendancy as one of the top medical centers in the world through his visionary leadership, his effectiveness in attracting superior talent to the faculty, which includes several Nobel Prize winners, and his ability to communicate the needs of the center to its benefactors; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Wildenthal has published numerous scientific papers, and he has received many awards over the years for his professional and philanthropic efforts; he was elected to the prestigious Texas Business Hall of Fame in 2008; and

WHEREAS, He has long been active in community organizations and the arts; since retiring, he has increased his volunteer

1

leadership in Dallas and continues his work with the Southwestern Medical Foundation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Kern Wildenthal on his illustrious and prolific career and his longtime commitment to The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of highest regard from the Texas Senate.

		Shapiro
Carona	Harris	Shapleigh
Deuell	Nelson	West
Averitt	Hegar	Seliger
Davis	Hinojosa	Uresti
Duncan	Huffman	Van de Putte
Ellis	Jackson	Watson
Eltife	Lucio	Wentworth
Estes	Nichols	Whitmire
Fraser	Ogden	Williams
Gallegos	Patrick	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

S.R. No. 565

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate