SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 575

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join Texas College in recognizing the Texas College Legacy Award recipients, who will be recognized at the college's first annual Legacy Dinner in Tyler on April 29, 2009; and

WHEREAS, The recipients of the Texas College Legacy Award this year are Bill G. Hartley, Bishop Marshall Gilmore, Representative Leo Berman, Billye Suber Williams Aaron, and Dr. Margaret E. Surry-Fingal; and

WHEREAS, Civic leader Bill G. Hartley is the chief executive officer and chairman of the board of directors of Southside Bank in Tyler; Bishop Marshall Gilmore is the senior bishop and the chief executive officer of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church and the presiding prelate for the Eighth Episcopal District and is based in Dallas; and

WHEREAS, Representative Leo Berman has served District 6 in the state legislature since 1998; he retired from the United States Army with the rank of lieutenant colonel; he is a former oil company executive; Billye Suber Williams Aaron is a Texas College graduate and a trustee of the college; she has earned renown as a media personality, philanthropist, and education advocate; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Margaret Earnestine Surry-Fingal is a Texas College graduate who has held several staff positions at the college; she is a widely published author and fundraiser, and she is the founder of the Gamma Epsilon chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, at Texas College; and

1

S.R. No. 575

WHEREAS, The Texas College Legacy Award recipients have demonstrated their outstanding support for higher educational opportunities for deserving students through the generosity of their time, their talents, and their resources; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Bill G. Hartley, Bishop Marshall Gilmore, Representative Leo Berman, Billye Suber Williams Aaron, and Dr. Margaret E. Surry-Fingal for their many contributions to Texas College and to the educational system of this state and extend to them congratulations on receiving the Texas College Legacy Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 6, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate