SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 597

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Robert B. Daigh, who is retiring on April 30, 2009, after more than 20 years of outstanding service with the Texas Department of Transportation; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Daigh began his career with the Texas Department of Transportation as an engineer with the Georgetown Area Office in March of 1988; in 2003, he was named district engineer for the Austin District, with responsibility for all state transportation, planning, design, construction, operation, and maintenance in the 11-county district; and

operation, and maintenance in the 11-county district; and WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Mr. Daigh has been noted for his forthrightness, his openness to differing points of view, and his willingness to honor community values in the development of projects; his professional handling of the controversies surrounding toll roads bears witness to his tact and his ability to see all sides of an issue; and

WHEREAS, Talented and resourceful, Mr. Daigh has carried out his many responsibilities with exceptional efficiency and dedication; under his expert leadership, road projects worth more than \$5 billion have been built in Central Texas, including the Central Texas Turnpike Project and the Texas 45 Southeast tollway; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary public servant, Mr. Daigh is respected and admired by his colleagues, and his presence at the Texas Department of Transportation will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Robert B. Daigh on his exceptional service to the Texas Department of Transportation and his many contributions to our state and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate