## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 602

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Britney Jordan, a senior at Texas A&M University--Commerce, who has been named a 2009 Daktronics Division II Women's Basketball First-Team All-American by the College Sports Information Directors of America; and

WHEREAS, Britney collected All-American honors for the last three seasons, but this year is her first year to be named to the first team; she is the first woman basketball player in the history of the school's program to earn this distinguished honor; and

WHEREAS, She led the nation in points scored per game with an average of 31.3 and led the Lone Star Conference with a total of 909 points for the season; she helped Texas A&M--Commerce end the season with an 18-11 record and a spot in the Lone Star Conference tournament for the fifth consecutive year; and

WHEREAS, Her numerous awards include three Lone Star Conference North Division First-Team honors, consecutive Daktronics All-South Central Region First-Team and Women's Basketball Coaches Association Honorable Mention All-American recognition for the years 2007 through 2009; and

WHEREAS, She was named the Woman's Basketball Coaches Association Division II player of the month for January, was selected the Lone Star Conference player of the week on five occasions, and was named Lone Star Conference North Division Player of the Year; throughout her career in basketball, she has demonstrated outstanding talent and perseverance in attaining the goals she sets for herself; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Britney Jordan for her many accomplishments as an athlete and congratulate her on being named a Daktronics Division II Women's Basketball First-Team All-American for 2009; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Deuell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 8, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate