SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 625

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Colt McCoy for his many achievements in the classroom and on the football field; and

WHEREAS, Fifth-year senior quarterback of The University of Texas Longhorns football team, Colt McCoy has set a high standard of excellence in his life and his athletic career; he was born into a family with a strong athletic legacy; his father, Brad, played safety for the Abilene Christian University football team, and his mother, Debra, was a shooting guard in basketball; and

WHEREAS, Coached by his father in high school, Colt set numerous records on the football field while excelling in the classroom as well; he graduated as the leading passer in Texas Class 2A history, and he was a three-year member of the National Honor Society; and

WHEREAS, As quarterback of the Longhorns, Colt has set the standard for success; he holds the all-time record for victories by a Longhorn quarterback with 32 and is the school's leader in pass attempts and completions, touchdown passes, passing yards, and completion percentage; he also holds the National Collegiate Athletic Association single-season record for completion percentage; and

WHEREAS, Colt is active in community affairs; his volunteer work has included regularly visiting patients at the Austin Children's Hospital, tutoring underprivileged children, visiting nursing homes, and participating in many other charitable activities; he is truly deserving of recognition for the example he sets for others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Colt McCoy for his many contributions to his team and community; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro, Carona, Ellis, Eltife, Fraser, Seliger, Shapleigh, Van de Putte, Zaffirini

S.R. No. 625

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 15, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate