## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 651

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the students, faculty, and staff of Prairie View A&M University and Texans across the state in celebrating April 27, 2009, as Prairie View A&M University Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1876, Prairie View A&M University is the second-oldest public institution of higher education in Texas; it is dedicated to excellence in teaching, research, and service and works to achieve that mission through addressing the issues of the day and proposing solutions designed to respond to current needs; and

WHEREAS, Prairie View A&M University offers a broad range of academic programs through nine schools and colleges; known for producing engineers, nurses, and educators, the university offers baccalaureate degrees in 50 academic majors, 37 master's degrees, and four doctoral degree programs; and

degrees, and four doctoral degree programs; and
WHEREAS, On this day, some 200 students and members of the
Student Government Association, joined by university president
Dr. George Wright, have come to Austin to celebrate the history
and accomplishments of Prairie View A&M University; and

and accomplishments of Prairie View A&M University; and
WHEREAS, This outstanding institution of higher learning
is truly deserving of recognition for its response to the growing
need for highly literate and technologically competent graduates
in our changing world: now, therefore, be it

in our changing world; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
Legislature, hereby commend Prairie View A&M University on its
commitment to excellence and extend a heartfelt welcome to Austin
to President Wright and the university's delegation for Prairie
View A&M University Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

View A&M University Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special day.

Hegar

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 20, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate