SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 660

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Melvin Martin, chief of the Abilene Police Department, who is retiring after 40 years of outstanding service; and

WHEREAS, A native of Abilene, Chief Martin holds a degree in criminal justice from Hardin-Simmons University; he joined the Abilene Police Department in March of 1969 and was named chief of police on January 13, 1994; he has served the longest tenure of any police officer in the department's history; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Chief Martin has been noted for his superior interpersonal and organizational skills; he played an important role in the creation of Interested Citizens of Abilene North, and he has emphasized the importance of community involvement in police work; and

WHEREAS, Talented and resourceful, Chief Martin has handled his many responsibilities with exceptional efficiency and dedication; under his leadership, the department has rebuilt its communications center and crime lab and established a Child Advocacy Center; and

WHEREAS, Active in community affairs, Chief Martin has served on the boards of many local organizations, including the Taylor County Juvenile Justice Association, the Boys and Girls Clubs of Abilene, and the United Way of Abilene; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary peace officer, Chief Martin is respected and admired by his colleagues and the citizens of Abilene, and his presence at the Abilene Police Department will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Chief Melvin Martin on his exceptional service to the City of Abilene and our state and extend to him best wishes for the retirement years ahead; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Fraser

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 20, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate