## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 664

WHEREAS, The Texas Senate is pleased to join the Communities In Schools State Advisory Committee and the Texas Education Agency in recognizing the recipients of the 2009 Best of Texas awards; and

WHEREAS, Communities In Schools is a nationwide dropout prevention network with 27 area programs in Texas; the initiative helps students to improve in academics, attendance, and behavior, while encouraging them to stay in school, graduate, and pursue postsecondary education goals; and

WHEREAS, The Best of Texas award recipients are recognized for their outstanding commitment to the Communities In Schools program, students, families, and schools; they exemplify the spirit of the program and demonstrate dedication beyond expectations; and

WHEREAS, This year's award winners, their programs, and honors include Janice Masters, CIS El Paso, Paul Lane Award of Excellence; Mark Vallejo, CIS of San Antonio, Board Member of the Year; Cynthia Clay Briggs, CIS Houston, Executive Director of the Year; Leigh Ann Armendariz, CIS of Greater Tarrant County, Staff Member of the Year; Mary Ann Garrett, CIS of Bell-Coryell Counties, Volunteer of the Year; Maria Solano, CIS Heart of Texas, Parent of the Year; and Stephen Donaldson, CIS of North Texas, Student of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Other recipients are Duncan Klussman, CIS Houston, Superintendent of the Year; Deborah Merki, CIS of North

S.R. No. 664

Texas, Principal of the Year; Adriana Laguna, CIS El Paso, Teacher of the Year; and Oakwood Baptist Church, CIS of South Central Texas, Business of the Year; and

WHEREAS, These committed citizens have helped many young Texans to stay in school, prepare for successful lives, and contribute to their communities, and they truly merit special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2009 Communities In Schools Best of Texas awards and commend all those involved with the Communities In Schools programs of Texas for their exceptional work; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the award recipients as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 23, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate