SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 680

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Communities In Schools State Advisory Committee in establishing a new category for a Best of Texas Award in honor of former Texas Senator Gonzalo Barrientos; and

former Texas Senator Gonzalo Barrientos; and WHEREAS, Through his leadership and advocacy for youth, Senator Barrientos has contributed significantly to the dropout prevention movement, bringing heightened awareness to the issue and to the needs of students, families, and communities; and

WHEREAS, Senator Barrientos has championed Communities In Schools for more than 20 years; he sponsored the first Communities In Schools legislation and served on the Communities In Schools National Board of Directors; today, he continues to share his time with the organization as board chair of the state advisory committee; and

WHEREAS, The new Best of Texas Award will be named the Gonzalo Barrientos Lifetime Achievement Award in Dropout Prevention and will honor individuals in Texas who have distinguished themselves in the field of dropout prevention through their vision, commitment, and leadership; and

through their vision, commitment, and leadership; and WHEREAS, Setting an outstanding example of generosity and dedication in behalf of Texas students, Senator Barrientos himself has been named the award's first recipient; and

WHEREAS, A quality education is vital in order for our children and youth to become successful adults, and by working to enhance Communities In Schools services, Senator Barrientos has helped to ensure a brighter future for all young Texans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby establish the Gonzalo Barrientos Lifetime Achievement Award in Dropout Prevention and extend congratulations to Senator Gonzalo Barrientos on being selected as the award's first recipient.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 23, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate