SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 718

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Oscar C. Page, who is retiring on June 30, 2009, after 15 years of outstanding service as president of Austin College; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Page came to Austin College in 1994 after serving as president of Austin Peay State University in Tennessee, and he has served as a senior-level administrator at colleges and universities throughout the South for the last three decades; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his term at Austin College, Dr. Page has emphasized the importance of service; he led a group of students in building homes in New Orleans for the victims of Hurricane Katrina, and the culture of service he fostered on campus led to the college's receiving the Citizen of the Year award from the Sherman Chamber of Commerce; and

WHEREAS, Under his farsighted leadership, the college has added more than 300 new scholarships and 20 new tenure-track positions; the endowment has grown to almost \$150 million and the operating budget has doubled, and nine major capital improvement projects have been completed, transforming the campus; and

WHEREAS, Active in civic affairs, Dr. Page has been a member of the Sherman Rotary Club and the Sherman and Denison Chambers of Commerce; he has served on the boards of the United Way and Junior Achievement of Grayson County, and he is a valued member of numerous professional and academic organizations; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary educator and administrator, Dr. Page is respected and admired by his colleagues, and his presence at Austin College will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Oscar C. Page on his dedication to educational excellence and his many accomplishments and extend to him best wishes for the retirement years ahead; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Estes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 24, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate