SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 721

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize James Langford on the occasion of his retirement from the Texas Farm Bureau Insurance Companies in Waco as vice president of compliance, regulatory and government affairs; and

WHEREAS, He began his career with Texas Farm Bureau Insurance Companies as a management trainee in its policy services department and subsequently held a variety of management positions; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Langford earned a bachelor of business administration degree from Baylor University in 1968 with a double major in management and marketing; he continued his education by earning designation as a chartered property casualty underwriter, an associate in management, an associate in reinsurance, and a certificate of completion in insurance regulation; and

WHEREAS, He is chair of the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association and the Texas Fair Plan Association; he previously held executive positions with the Southwestern Insurance Information Service, the Texas Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association, and the Insurance Council of Texas; and

WHEREAS, He chaired the executive committee of the Texas Market Assistance Program and served as president of the Heart of Texas Chapter of the Society of Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriters and the Association of Fire and Casualty Companies in Texas; and

S.R. No. 721

WHEREAS, The recipient of the Raymond Mauk Leadership Award, James Langford earned the admiration and respect of his colleagues in the insurance industry and of all those with whom he has worked; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend James Langford for his leadership and outstanding work in the insurance industry and extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Averitt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 28, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate